Poetry and performing arts...

yesterday evening went for a rather unique concert (if I may call it so) in Hyderabad. The event comprised of poetry recitation and interpretation of the same through performing arts like singing, dance and music. The poetry was predominantly Urdu but there was a section dedicated to english poems by Sarojini Naidu. All the three poets whose poems were recited either belonged to or had some connection to Hyderabad. I do understand a little bit of Urdu but if someone starts using too difficult or literary words, then it starts going beyond me. Yesterday's was a mix of both. I did catch quite a bit of it. The performing artists complemented the recitation beautifully. Though I didn't enjoy the Sufi singing part that much but the dance performance and especially Santoor music performance was just superb. Rahul Sharma, worthy son of a worthy father did what he does best. The person who composed/compiled music for the dance performances deserves a special mention here. The music was aptly chosen and was very pleasant to the ears.

The concert was held out in the open and for a while the strong winds and dark clouds did threaten to play a spoilt sport but once the artists took the stage, even they couldn't help but enjoy the concert, in silence.

I did get wet while coming back and it was already post midnight when I reached back home....Had to miss the blip, but I am not complaining.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.