Christian Pedersen

By ChrisP

Golden pillar on Jokhang Temple

On Day 2 my dad and I got a better look at the temple. I was still getting used to the altitude, getting winded if I went up the stairs too quickly, so things were getting a bit trippy inside the temple. It was dark and crowded and the smell of incense and burning yak butter was intoxicating. It was a nice first taste of what I had in store for me, but I was happy to got on the roof and take a breather.

Up there we saw some women laying down some new floors to the rhythm of a song they sang. It took me back to my time in Kenya, so again, a very trippy day. Our Tibetan guide pointed out some Chinese tourists who weren't really tourists, if you know what I mean... For the people in the cheap seats. They were spies!

That was plenty of excitement for one day. I spent the rest of the day walking around, getting my bearings and had a nice meal: yak butter tea (very much an acquired taste) and yak and chilies (which is like really nice, but lean beef).

Now I'm torn on my blip for day 3, so once again, hang in there.

Diana+ 50mm lens
Kodak Ektacolor Pro 160

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.