A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Chess Day

After a most excellent night of partying it was quite a struggle to leave my duvet this morning. But leave it I did and dutifully drove myself and J to the chess championship that was our home for the day.

Took this before the parents got kicked out to the canteen where we sat, chat, read the papers, drunk tea and, in my case, nursed my hangover awaiting the breaks and the results.

A good number of hours and six rounds later J, and most of his schoolmates, had qualified for the next stage of the championship. So we'll do this all again, somewhere else, the first weekend in July. It was sort of like being in a weird prison but strangely enjoyable. And obviously just great for J to get such a positive result.

So proud of my boy
Lesley x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.