SOUTH BY MIDWEST

By southbymidwest

The light of my life...

Well, maybe that is an exaggeration. But it is the light of my bathroom.

For as garish and as soul-sucking as commercial fluorescent lighting can be, I'm surprised how beautiful their compact equivalents are for the home. This particular bulb is a Hollywood-style bulb with a big gl(ass) globe around it -- which you can't see in this picture due to the crop. I love the tight, spiral tubing though... very arresting up close. And I didn't even notice the slight heat vapor forming at the top until I cropped the photo.

POST NOTES: Not a true macro shot, but until I get a proper lens a cropped 20mm will have to due. Good thing it is so sharp. Shot with Olympus 'Pop Art' filter, then cropped and slightly boosted saturation in post.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.