Wendy's World

By Wendles56

The Flags Are Out!

I thought someone had put out the flags in my honour when I arrived at my Bus Stop this morning (It is now officially my bus stop as no one else gets on the 06.54 bus).

I was mistaken, apparently it is Christian Aid week and the flags are on the Chapel next to the (my!) bus stop. I'm not a Christian but I do believe in aid. I posed a badly phrased question to my students today. I asked, 'What do you value?' Without hesitation one replied, 'My mobile phone.'

Last week a Picasso was sold for £70million at Christie's. I can appreciate a painting, but it is a piece of paper with paint on it which goes on a wall. I would have thought there were a few small countries, parts of the world out there who could have raised the standard of living of a sizeable number of their populations with £70million ?? How many mosquito nets would it buy?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.