walking in the city

By inthecity

I'm so lucky

When I visit Montreal, my friend vacates her place in St Henri, takes her doggie and moves in with her man for the weekend so I can have the place to myself. And it's Sunday and I have only one task--bake something supertasty and bring it to a potluck dinner where I'll get to see my Montreal crowd*.

So I learned how to make Baklava from Google and Youtube (that's after living over ten years in Greektown). It's just a short walk along the canal to the Atwater Market to get all the fixins--pistascios, walnuts, phyllo, honey, and general sweetspice awesomeness. The whole deal took a few hours and a lot of running from the kitchen to the dining room where I set up my laptop. I had a blast and only once set off the smoke alarm.

Really, the Baklava turned out pretty perfect. Beginner's luck maybe, but it made me happy to share it and I'm totally going to make it for my Mom. Great party in the end and tons of supertasty food.


* My supervisor and her husband, also a prof in the department, have a wicked loft in Ville-Ray. The building's an old calendar factory which was converted into only three units. Holy space and they host epic parties.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.