Vista Park Pix

By VistaBob

100th Blip A Milestone!

Retired Engineer and Amateur Photographer was my original Bio. On the occasion of my 100th Blip Birthday, I thought that I'd share a little more background.

My first computer lesson was in 1955, when I was a Freshman in College. Although not a programmer, since then, I have not been intimidated by computers or by programmers, some of whom are my best friends.

We live in an Active Adult Community nestled in the Santa Catalina Mountains, just North of Tucson Arizona. Elevation here is about 3,500 feet above sea level. My main hobbies are Golf, Bicycling, and Photography. Of course, I am hooked on my Macbook to which I converted in the last couple of years. Other interests include Astronomy and Geology, which are new to me because there weren't any mountains and not much of a sky view in Northwest Indiana where we spent the last 35 years.

My inspiration with Blipfoto has been BikerJim who I met through our Photography and Photoshop Club, called DIGS, for Digital Imaging Group South. The original DIG mothership is located in Phoenix, about 100 miles to the north.

Contrary to my preconceived notions, the desert is not a dry and lifeless place. There is an abundance of animal and plant life with much interesting material for photography. There are tons of flowers, animals, and birds throughout the year. We can see deer, bobcats, coyotes, javelinas, roadrunners, quail, and more. I find many great images in our backyard or in a simple walk around the block or around golf courses.

Preparing a Blip every day for the last 100 days has taught me several things:
..Starting with a good picture saves lots of post-processing time.
..Walking about and visualizing will present your eye with dozens of images every day.
..Always have a camera nearby!
..A great camera and a terrific zoom lens are wonderful tools, but a little pocket camera can produce exceptional images - and it is handy!
..Now that I've learned about sRGB and image sizing, I hope to present better Blips!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.