Plus ça change...

By SooB

Choices

This was the optimistic 'blossom against blue sky' blip you were going to get today. But somehow I'm sunk into despair. Although this was inevitable, I was holding onto a glimmer of hope... Anyway, if I get properly started on politics I may never stop, so just one link to explain the blip, and I'll move on.

Had an induction meeting at school for prospective P1 parents today. I felt a bit of a fraud going along - but I'm not tempting fate until the missives are concluded*. Had a wee chat with the Head before about a problem I thought she should head off - and she listened to me and dealt with it head on. That's never happened before.

In slightly bizarre school news, my daughter is being sent to the bathroom to wash her hands every time she sneezes in class. As she has hayfever (we think) this is resulting in her missing a lot of class. Am I overreacting to think this is a loony waste of her time? Kids who cough on their hands don't have to go and wash them. Nor, I am told, the boys who pick their noses and eat what they dig out. So I am teaching her the sneezing into your sleeve technique, and may send her in tomorrow with hand sanitizing gel for total germ destruction.

Is this standard practice?

*contract signed for house sale, in the world outside Scotland. Ours still isn't. But then the buyer's lawyers seem to still use quills and spurn modern eccentricities like 'the telephone', 'the fax machine' and 'talking to your client other than by letter', so who knows when we can expect news.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.