Dear Photo Diary

By rutherfordium

The Holy Grail

This is the one for me, I am like a pig in shit today.

This is only the second treecreeper I've seen in my life. I blipped the first one as well, but I didn't have my telephoto lens and I was gutted I didn't get a better shot. Almost every day since then, I've gone back to the same group of trees, hoping to see him again. Today was no different, I went there, stood for a while, took some snaps of a blackbird with about 6 worms in his beak and almost gave up. Just as I was about to leave a little bird flew over my shoulder. It happens all the time but something about the way this one was flying screamed treecreeper. So I went searching.

And he led me on a merry dance! They move so quickly and I've never seen more effective camouflage on a bird, really hard to keep track of. He darted round the trunk, I circled round too. He flew from tree to tree, I literally ran after him. I must have looked like a complete maniac! But I was rewarded with this, almost the last shot I got before I lost him. I'm chuffed to have caught him with his breakfast :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.