Instography

By Instography

Tenacious weed

I've enjoyed the forum thread "what is the point of photographing flowers?". I have been known to indulge. I've snapped but never blipped. Somewhere there's a "Monica" lens cloth marked with the pollen of illicit flower intimacy.

But much as I hate them in the wrong places, taking the nutrients I want for my veg, spotting the grass and making it obvious that I don't cut it enough, I think I admire the tenacity of weeds more than the pampered fragility of flowers. Where flowers bloom for a day, drop their petals and die, weeds hang on. Where flowers demand the best soil and regular water, weeds will grow in whatever conditions they can get: any crevice where a root can cling and where just enough water gathers.

I couldn't type that title without thinking of Jack Black.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.