Mainly moving

By Snowbell

Blood

The blood guys were in then neighborhood today and as it's been more than 4 months since my last donation, I decided to go there and do my good deed of the day. Unlike last time I came well prepared: I ate and drank before and brought a squishy ball and a book.

The first problem I encountered (other than the hour long wait) was the hemoglobin test... I could have sworn that last time I was there they used an electronic gizmo (we are in the 21st century after all) not this time: this time they had to drop a drop of blood in a test tube full of green liquid and for some strange reason the nurse was having trouble doing that. The process was repeated no less than 4 times (here a picture of him squeezing my finger to get the blood out). Eventually a supervisor was called and he succeeded the second time.

Then I was sent to beds. After an apology about the delay another nurse set out to suck my blood. Only apparently he couldn't find the vein. you have to understand that I have donated blood countless times and my veins were never a problem. When he finally did find one, he lost it (not his head, my vein) and set out on a DIGGING expedition with the needle.

IT WASN'T PLEASANT!

Once again the supervisor was called but the vein was lost (probably retracted in fear). They made a half-hearted attempt on my other arm but then decided it was better to let me go. So I didn't donate blood but I will have a huge hematoma for my pain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.