John Van de Graaff

By VandeGraaff

A Mirror and More

This is a partial view of our bedroom late this sunny afternoon--a busy day, so I didn't have much of a chance for an exterior blip.

The photo is of my wife at our wedding 15 years and 2 days ago. She's flanked by a leggy nondescript plant whose association with her is twice as long as mine. The large ceramic turtle goes much further back, to my high school art class (my mother used to swear that she once saw our cat pounce on it). In the middle is a minimalist ceramic hippopotamus from Mexico (1990s). And further to the left is a small ceramic European blue tit--a recent gift from a German friend.
This is a poignant scene for me, since we'll be moving later this summer (fortunately only locally).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.