Help Save Bees

By helpsavebees

Nature's Pollinating Service

It's easy to just keep on driving past fields of Oilseed Rape, dismissing it as a blot on the landscape. But it's not until one stops and tries to photograph bees, that the true beauty of the plant is fully appreciated.

Bees love Oilseed Rape, particularly Honey bees, and Oilseed Rape is in full flower at the moment. I adore the splash of intensive yellow and vivid lime green that it adds to the surrounding landscape, just as all the hedges and trees come into leaf. On a sunny, one needs sunglasses to avoid squinting.

This field had bees everywhere, honey bees and bumblebees, literally filling the air with their busy buzzing, to and fro, so I was surprised at how hard it was to capture one on film.

And as I went back to the car, I noticed my trousers completely covered in bright yellow pollen, which of course is why the bees were there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.