Raj Tipparaju's Eye Q

By rajseyeq

Moment of Truth...

Would you stretch to any extent to save your loved ones? This is one of those questions which only has ONE answer and it is always a "YES".

Please read on for an interesting story...

It was an action packed Sunday for us. My kiddo brother bought a biig house and has a private lake which is about 30 feet deep in the center. I, with my 2 precious daughters were helping them unpack their stuff and my elder daughter in no time made friends with the neighbor's daughter Lauren.

We were busy inside the house unpacking the stuff and my daughter with her friend got into their boat with the life jackets on and were happily enjoying the not so warm Chicago weather in the lake. After a little while, I noticed that Lauren's mom was trying something standing on the shore which got my attention and when I went out, she told me that the boat's rudder got tangled with the rope and the pedal's were stuck. The girls were in the middle of the lake and not knowing what to do, they started crying.

I stood their for couple of minutes thinking thru the options and only one thing came to my mind. I quickly ran inside, changed into shorts, ran out, jumped into the lake and started swimming towards the boat. The cold water was quickly acting upon my body but I only had one thing going in my mind.. To save the girls. I swam to the boat (a good 50 meters) and when I reached the boat, I told the girls to hang tight and with one hand, I held the boad and swam back with the other :-)

It was a proud moment to hold both the girls when we were back on the shore and I just sat there for few moments staring the water and the girls. My daughter quickly ran inside and within 5 minutes, she came back with this note she made for me which made me feel even better. I am sure she'll be reading this story to her children and her grand children countless times :-)

Thank you everyone for sharing my joyfull moments.

Have a blessed week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.