Delph Wynd Daily

By delphwynd

Grrrrrrrrrr

Bit of a nostalgia trip round the old place tonight, poor Euan must've been sick fed up of my "When I was your age..." and "It was never like this back then..." as we wandered around the places we played as kids.

Could name a fair few of the families that used to stay in the streets nearby as we passed, something I don't think this generation could do beyond a few houses. Not sure if Euan was impressed or horrified as I told him stories about many of them, such as the night I was almost held prisoner during a successful (up to that point) night of chap-door-run. One door flew open as I was about to ring the bell and I was grabbed and dragged into the kitchen and sat their absolutely 'keeching masel'* as the man of the house had his wife pretend to phone the polis (didn't know that at the time though). After blurting out where I stayed I was then frog marched home and given a good old fashioned rollocking from my mum. Probably accompanied by one of her favourite pink fluffy slippers being used to reinforce her point.

Grrrr...

We took a walk through the old cemetery that was directly over the road from our old terraced house. The place has survived since the 12th century but there's hardly a gravestone standing now and there's no access to the old church due to the vandalism. Don't think it'll see this century out at this rate.

Grrrr...

We sneaked around the back of the old house too and had a peek over the fence into the garden. My dad would be horrified to see the state of that now as he was a keen gardener and that place was his pride and joy. Grass 2 foot high and junk everywhere.

Grrrr.

Talking of the old man, this shot is taken on the site where his old garage, and many of the neighbours, old garages used to stand. Built out of sheets of corrugated asbestos (honest!) it would never have been allowed nowadays, but it kept his cars frost free and many huge spiders warm for many years. And, when we had our first car, it provided the workspace and tools needed to keep our wee yellow Ford Fiesta on the road. It's all just an abandoned wasteland now apart from a one or two wooden garages.

Just glad the sun was shining and Euan was there to keep me company otherwise I'd be in a right old mood just now.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

*scared to the point of soiling one's under garments

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.