Man, Mountain or Fish

By StevieFish

Maria

I spent the day on tenterhooks waiting for a call, waiting for news.

I did joke, pretend it wasn't something serious - but I lied to myself. Every bleep from my phone sent my heart racing. A message from my cousin on Facebook told me that she wasn't expected to last the day.

The work day done I headed home, I phoned friends but shit luck as it is everyone was busy - I then sat and thought, then headed out needing some release.

I cycled off to the allotment and weeded before eventually heading home - the sky was filled with fire and I had to watch as the last rays of the sun slipped behind the hills. I somehow knew that I had to watch the sun set on this day.

She passed away at 7pm. A scant two hours before the sunset. Before I took this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.