AlfredoEzquerra

By Alfredo

Don´t lose the custom

Another day in the week and we?re having another sunny day; this makes me very happy.

I was my English class like a routine trying to improve my English. My teacher suggested taking a walk for the street market close our college. We grabbed the camera full of battery, empty memory card and plenty of energy and illusion.

What was a surprise when we got to the market it was completely empty. How could it possibly be? we were there 2 months ago and the market was crowded. I remember it like it was yesterday: a colourful, bright, and busy market. What has happened??

Honestly when I got to the street I had a strange feeling because I had concerns the market was closing down. Nevertheless we found out later the answers asking them about street view. They confirmed to us what it is the current situation of the market. It?s about to collapse.

We had a chat with some of few shopkeeper that we found there and they could explain what is the reason of this situation. They have to pay a lot of money to bring all their staff because the market is in zone 1 (All of us know the congestion charge).

We are aware that small shops have a unequal fight in comparison with huge supermarket. One of them add the figures in millions and the other one have to count every penny that they earn.

Those markets are an essential of the city, their history and in my opinion they should never disappear because we would be losing part of this rich culture.

How can we allow markets like this going to disappear?? This is unacceptable. Why are we losing our traditions for money?? We only are what we have been...let?s keep our custom but and at the same time develop your stuff.


"Custom is the great guide to human life"
David Hume

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.