Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Splish Splash Splosh! Take 2

Excuse another sploshy bath shot so soon after the first but I'm experimenting with my (hard saved for) new camera...and Noah had to be drenched in order to satisfy my artistic lust...his brother was only too willing to oblige ;-)

I've tried to freeze action in the past with limited success as my EOS 350D wasn't really up to the job unless the ambient light was super-bright. High ISOs produced very noisy images.

My 50D is more than equal to the task. I'm able to push the ISO up and, correspondingly, the shutter speed. I wasn't completely satisfied technically with the shot I took the other day (though it's one of of my personal faves of Noah) ...it was still a bit blurry.

I've now got to grips with altering the focus points and what ISOs it's capable of handling. I'm delighted. It's much heavier than my 350D but it feels better in my hands. I have large hands and long fingers for a girl and the 350D always felt a bit small and fiddly. It also felt front heavy with a lens on it. The 50D feels 'right'...it's better balanced and therefore feels more natural to use. Coupled with bigger dials it makes it easier for me to manipulate.

I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.