Gifts of Grace

By grace

Spot the ...... Horsehair Worm

This is not the best photograph I took today - but it is by far the most exciting. The day started with HEAVY showers and I popped out to blip some of the wonderful raindrops on all the spring green.

I remembered to connect - with myself, with the camera, with the world and what it wanted to offer me. The reward was this splendid beastie rearing up into the viewfinder. About six inches long and two hairs wide it changed from pale cream to brown depending on the leaf colour of its host; and did a good imitation of a cobra in its movements as it raced around from plant to plant. It was hard to keep up with its speed. By name a Horsehair Worm - you can see it in action here. I did not know such a creature existed until today. Apparently they are parasitic, but not to humans. Phew!

Today I wished I had EZhighway's skill and equipment or at least a tripod to do this critter justice. It was an honour to meet him (?).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.