My Favourite Grapevine

My wonderful grapevine is going out in a blaze of glory. I've already blipped several bits of it, but here is a broadside shot. This vine gives me so much pleasure.

Because the flowers set at different times I'm able to eat two or three small bunches every day for almost three months. On top of that, this season, I've processed 5 kilos into a thick puree, with nothing added. It spreads like jam straight from the freezer, or cooked up with berries frozen from my garden it makes a delicious jam without the need to add sugar. It is very sweet, but it does not affect me as cane sugar does.

Then it turns on this colourful display. There are still a few grapes left, but I'm saving them for the waxeyes. (See yesterday).

I don't know what sort of grape it is. I bought it because it said Interlaken on the label, but I soon realised it was not my favourite green grape. I complained at the nursery where I bought it and they gave me another vine similar to Interlaken. The man said to pull the fake out and dump it. Well, I didn't and I'm so glad.

Other blips of this vine this autumn-
Through greenhouse wall
Tendril
Macros 1 and 2
Bid for Freedom

Fantail update: It is a week since he last visited. The weather has turned much cooler. This time I'm pretty certain he's gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.