Don't Stand in my Light

By JacquiJay

Eggs

Eggs ... new beginnings, new life, new anything.

This week saw a new beginning when I committed to blipping every day (and doesn't that force the grey cells to start turning).

Today sees the start of another new project for me - I have registered to begin studying towards an MA in The History of Fine Art with the Open University. It is nearly a year since I finished my BA studies (in Photography) and the intervening year has been a combination of marking time and beginning to feel invisible, so a metaphorical kickstart is definitely needed. The goal is to finish it for my seventieth birthday (three years away) so it might be a bit tight as I need to fit in a 'refresher' module first.

I studied for an A level in Fine Art many years ago as a related part of my job (I was printing art catalogues and this piqued my interest). Halfway through the course my eldest daughter, Aisling, died suddenly from a brain haemhorrhage at the age of 36 and, for a while, my world greyed out. I finished the course but only achieved the very lowest pass possible.

For years, my art books sat on the shelf ... and once I nearly sold the lot on eBay ... now I will be meeting new friends again in their pages and am daring to hope that the art studies will influence my photography.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.