The Khan Collective

By khancollective

Mercurial

Really gutted about the mercury music prize last night.

I'm mildly related to some of the members of the Young Knives.
They've worked very very hard for years to get to where they are today.

I'm not gutted that they didn't win. The relatively well established acts can survive the media scrum after they win (Pulp, PJ Harvey, Arctic Monkeys, Franz Ferdinand) but it's too much of a poison chalice for a band with a small fanbase (Reprazent, Gomez, Badly Drawn Boy, Anthony and the Johnsons). The press just start on the "who are they anyway?", "how dare they win the award", "it just like the turner prize".

Anyway I'm mainly gutted that they didn't perform on the night to their usual standard. They are an amazing live act (I know I'm biased but...).

Now I'm impatiently waiting for the new album.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.