The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Empty space and physics

Despite the fact that my car and this hoverfly are mostly empty space held together by nuclear and intermolecular forces they managed to hit each other. My car slowed down a tiny tiny tiny tiny tiny tiny tiny tiny tiny tiny tiny tiny tiny tiny tiny tiny little tiny bit and the fly sped up by quite a lot.
If you could compress all the matter on earth really small an event horizon would form at a radius of eight inches. This is known as the Schwarzschild radius.
I didn't know this until 5 minutes ago - and I've already forgotten it without reading what I just wrote.
Any jokes about what goes through a fly's mind when a car hits it will be duly noted.
It does look as if it was just looking round to see what that big whooshing noise was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.