Country Auction in South Dakota

I was drawn to the sound at first, a "five, five, dibbi dive, dibidibi gimme five" at high speed. It was an auction in a parking lot next to a pub here in Vermillion South Dakota. I actually bought a box of antique jars ($2.65 including tax), but noticed this guy examining the guns and rifles off in the corner.

We don't do guns in Canada, so I found this fascinating. The guy at the bar next to me was explaining how he has a permit to carry [a concealed weapon]. It cost him $5 and is good for 4 years. He can't take the gun into a federal building, a school, or a place where more than half the business is serving alcohol. Everywhere else is fine.

I came to this town to see the National Music Museum. It has Lucille (BB King's guitar)! And also some strads, Amati's, and all sorts of instruments in fine condition from America and the world. A whole gamelan kit was there. Wonderfully painted harpsichords. I think, Stevie Wonder's harmonica.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.