Northern Exposure

By Northern

Focus

I'm having trouble focusing at the moment. The distractions of sunny days and outdoor life is pulling at the edge of my attention and causing my mind to wander from where it should be.

My tai chi instructor teaches us to develop the technique of being aware of everything but not looking at any one thing. He relates it to the way a reptile appears to be unfocussed but is actually 100% aware of everything in it's surroundings and is able to react to the tiniest change e.g. when a tasty morsel moves and the reptile strikes.

I'm trying to achieve this aware stillness but all that's happening is that I'm sitting watching some very worrying blurry things approaching fast and waiting for that last moment before I do anything it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.