horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Tyred

"Hey Frank, do you fancy doing the Edinburgh Marathon this year?"

"Ach, it's a bit easy is it no?"

"Well why don't we strap a gert big tyre to the back of each of us and drag that round the 26 (and a bit) miles?"

"Sounds good to me Geoff, sounds good."

I was on chauffeur duty, shepherding about friends doing the team relay part of the marathon, rather than running. Ask me to go out and cycle 100 miles tomorrow and I'll happily do it - but run 26 miles?? Insanity. And I've got a fair idea more than half the people taking part considered that exact same thought as they got out on the course.

There's a small set here if you're interested in the pain, suffering and dressing up...

Parking in Musselburgh at the end was a practical impossibility so the team was all dropped off as I fought with the traffic back home. They're all coming round here later for a barbecue as well, so hoping the sun stays out. Nice way to spend a Sunday really - especially with a four day week coming up before our annual pilgrimage to Skye next weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.