Kirsty McGee Photojournal

By kirstymcgee

Nikki

Today I went on a CityCo photography day aimed at encouraging people to assert their right to take photos in public places.
It felt like such a good idea until I was standing on a bridge with twenty photographers, my iPhone primed in my pocket and everyone else got out their gear...and they all had fancy SLR cameras, multiple lenses and bags of pro gear. At that point it didn't feel like a good idea at all and in fact I was so embarrassed that I didn't take any shots for the first half hour...What did It feel like? It felt like I was pointing my peashooter at someone else's nuclear arsenal.
After a while I broke ranks with Nikki and we wandered off to do some exploring. I took some furtive shots of bridges, architecture and general city trash. At one point Nikki had her camera inserted through the railings and dangling precariously over the River Irwell. (I love the concentration in her face, possibly due in part to the dangling camera.)
The sunshine today was fierce so I did enjoy the light. You rarely get skies this blue over Manchester.
Later I met friends for a game of Swedish skittles in Hulme park and happily used my peashooter to take some photos of the last of the dying sun from the skatepark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.