Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Looking forward

Takeoff for Croatia is on Saturday week, the 15th, and I'm much less prepared than I normally would be at this stage. One thing I always like to do when venturing outside the eurozone is to get some foreign currency -- just a starter pack so we aren't stuck for taxi fare or things like that when we arrive. I had to visit the bank on Tuesday after my wrist checkup, so I enquired about availability of Croatian currency. I got 100 euro worth, 50 each for the two of us.

The chit from the bank included a handy memo setting out the value in euro of guideline amounts of Kuna, but I always like to prepare my own conversion chart, and to come up with some easy-to-remember conversion system to make it easier to get a feel for costs while away. So I did that tonight and put together a little conversion table for easy reference in and around Makarska. Doing this has the added benefit, of course, of making the oncoming holiday more a reality and less a distant notion.

Last year's wonderful trip to Canada involved a lot of preparation and advance organisation, so we decided to sit back this year and let a tour operator do the donkey work. That will be a relief, especially after all the wrist hassle of the last few weeks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.