ThisIs_WillCarroll

By willcarroll

Family - Near and far

I belong to a family that transcends place and time. This morning I was priviledged to be in London to witness it grow.

Lizzie was baptised at St Paul's Shadwell. Although I was a visitor in their congregation, it was a pleasure to join with them in extending a hand of welcome to her. She was one of a number making that public declaration of faith that is in the promises of batism. Just before the moment of immersion, Lizzie entrusts herself into the hands of those who have helped bring her here.


It was also great to catch up with the rest of her immediate family - long friends of ours. It fascinates me that, having started in the same place, we now lead such different lives. And yet here we were- path's firmly crossed again.

I have always felt inclined to benchmark success against that of friends - particularly those with whom I go back the furthest. But these days I don't lkike to measure that by the size of my salary, or the standing of my profession. The better judge is by the size of the smile on your face, and (perhaps even more) by the size of the smile on the faces of those who greet you.

So today, we all were successful people.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.