A Canterbury Tail

By Canterbury

Smoko

I spotted these chicken wire sculptures last night at Barkings gig. They are situated two storeys up between Fat Eddie's bar and a coffee shop.

There is a load of detail in the workmen having a tea break - colloquially known as a "smoko", that I couldn't see last night in the dark. For example the guy on the right eating a banana. It looked interesting enough at night to warrant a daytime looksy.

This is only the second time that I've been to this part of Christchurch, it's full of really cool bars and cafes. Until Barking had her gig last week I had no idea that there was anything at the back of the dodgy looking alleyway. I've only lived here for nearly ten years - maybe I'll get more observant through blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.