Life Inspired

By inspiredesigns

Adventure

The boys and I had an adventure today. We had a baby shower to attend in Tenmile, Oregon, which is probably a good hour and a half away from our home. Anything more than 10 miles, is a "long drive" according to my boys.

We had a great time at the party, and I was so happy to see my good friend after so many, many years. She is expecting her third little one in a couple of weeks. Exciting!

On our way back home, I sort of took a detour (unknowingly). I thought I was heading back to the highway but then realized (when I ran out of pavement), that I was nowhere near the highway. Now the road was called Coos Bay Wagon Road, and Coos Bay is where we live, so I figured I had to end up there eventually.

So I started ascending the giant mountain while the boys slept. When I got to the top, this is what I saw. I kept heading on the road, which eventually started down the other side of the mountain. I figured I was home free. While on this road down the mountain, I spotted this amazing waterfall. I'm not sure what the name is, but I was really impressed to find it.

As I was driving blindly through the forest, I realized that my cell phone had died. Geez. So if the cell wasn't bad enough, my 4 year old woke up and said: "Mama? Isn't the thingy getting closer to the E? Does that mean we're out of gas?" Well isn't that just dandy?

When I finally managed to find pavement again, I noticed a sign that said "Myrtle Point 26 miles." Wow! I was that far out of the way? The amount of time I'd driven should have placed me at my doorstep, but now I find that I'm still over an hour from home with barely any gas.

I did make it to Myrtle Point and filled up the gas tank. The boys pretty much slept through the whole thing, and I kept myself calm by stopping for photos along the way. I'm sure I white-knuckled the steering wheel the entire ride, but the scenery was amazing. I had traveled through Sitkum and Dora, which I've never seen before. I would have thought I was in a valley in Hawaii if the air had been warmer.

So now our adventure is over, and it is time for rest. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.