Fractal Vase

This is a plain blue glass vase overlaid with a photo of a fractal that I generated myself.

Before I got a digital camera I was really taken up with fractals. I have a big collection of weird and wonderful images and occasionally I have wondered how they could be combined with photography. When my son showed me how to use Layers in PhotoShop a couple of weeks ago I recognised the possibilities. Then it had to be done within the rules of Blipfoto.

With non-stop rain keeping me inside I decided to experiment today. I chose a relatively simple fractal to start with and tried all sorts of effects with it before and after photographing it. Getting enough light to shoot the vase was the greatest challenge.

Fractals are computer-generated images, but it takes skill to generate a suitably complex fractal plus experience and imagination to discover the unusual. A good fractal is a bit like the world in which we take photos. Any number of photographers can go to the same place and each will take a different photo. In a complex fractal there's an almost infinite number of images.

I hope you like this image. I have masses of ideas buzzing away in my head.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.