Fading iSight

By vambo

Let's Have A Butchers

Was handed down an old family photo a few years ago. Unfortunately the original print was faded and has continued to fade since I got it despite being kept away from daylight.

Thought I would take a picture of it and try it out as a restoration project in Photoshop as there is no known surviving negative.

The picture shows a butcher's shop owned by my family many years ago. The man with the huge white beard is, I think, my Great Great Grandfather Henry. The shop owner would have been my Great Grandfather meaning the little boy beside him is probably my Grandfather.

There is a lot of work to done to bring the photo back to life properly, not easy for a PS novice like me, but this doesn't look to bad as a starting point.

Note : Even though they are family I think I would be a wee bit hesitant about buying meat that had been hanging up outside the shop!


Note 2 : The shop was located at 25 London Road, Gloucester. The building is still there as I have just checked it on Google Street View !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.