Delph Wynd Daily

By delphwynd

Give Them an Inch...

And I'll take 32 miles.

That's approximately the distance, as the crow flies, from Alloa Inch in the foreground here out to Ben Lomond in the bottom left of the picture.

Did a spot of cloud-watching over my ploughman's at lunch today, from the banks of the River Forth at South Alloa. Didn't see many though.

I was intrigued by the derelict farmhouse (which I've blipped before) in the middle of the Inch here which can only be accessed by boat. A bit of googling finds that it's been abandoned since 1982 and another local farmer says that at high tide the whole island disappears and the water laps up to the bottom windows of the building. What I found even more fascinating though was another page that popped up that has a link to an aerial view of the island taken by the Luftwaffe in 1939. I think they may have been paying slightly more attention to the huge munitionslager just to the west of it though. (Got a picture of that too. It's an intriguing and eerie place to visit, as long as you watch out for the asbestos and the sheep).

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.