Best Foot Forward

By JustKat

Everyday Heroes

I think it's safe to say the mood in Keswick and West Cumbria has been a sombre one for the last couple of days. I hope nobody on blip has been affected by the bus crash, directly or indirectly.

We went up to the stone circle at Castlerigg tonight and looking out over the mountains that surround these historic stones has left me thinking a lot about the emergency services. They play such an important role in everyday life all over the country but especially in areas like the Lake District where the very nature of the landscape means call outs are higher.
Five years ago the Great North Air Ambulance came to the aid of my (now)fiance when he broke his neck mountain biking, and I can safely say that if it wasn't for them he wouldn't be alive today. Accidents like the one on the A66 should remind us all how important all the emergency services are.

I hope that if you didn't give to the emergency services beforehand you will now, because you never know if it will be you they have to save next.

They are the heroes and heroins of everyday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.