Martin's Daily Photo

By MartinGBEdwards

Artificial Swarm - needs a super!

This is the colony of bees which I separated from the parent colony last Sunday (16th) . It consisted of one frame of brood, the queen, and as many of the flying bees that would stay with her (most of them). The rest of the brood box was just frames of foundation (plain wax sheets). This is what I saw when I took the lid off today. The bees have drawn out comb on all of the frames in the box and have started building wild comb throught he hole in the coverboard - had I left them any longer they would have started building wild comb in the roof space. This is a sure sign that they are looking for more honey storage space!
I took the super from the parent colony and gave it to this colony and will check in a couple of days time. I expect I will need to add another empty super then.
Meanwhile the bees in the parent colony will, I hope, be concentrating on raising a new queen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.