Moments

By togrrrl

Focus

My day divided neatly into satisfying non-work time and frustrating and mind numbing work hours. At work I spent 3 hours in meetings which were mostly useless, poorly organized and a waste of everyone's time. I don't think anyone, including the organizers wanted to be there.

We are an incredibly, obstinately stupid species when we behave in groups. Sigh.

A lot of my satisfying non-work time was spent chasing bees and butterflies with my camera.

I have a wild rose bush which is about 10 feet high and 7 feet wide. It's enormous. It is covered in tiny white blooms for about 1 week each year and this is the week! This morning it was buzzing with bumblebees and honeybees and other kinds of bees gathering pollen. Wow, do they move fast. And they truly are busy. But unlike my business, their's was productive and focused and stunning to observe.

Although I got a few pictures that were good, this picture of grass growing wild in my garden illuminated by the setting sun gave me the most satisfaction. I played with the manual focus, moving in and out, back and forth. It restored my inner focus and equilibrium to find pattern and balance in this small corner of my world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.