Tuscany

By Amalarian

I SCREAM, YOU SCREAM, WE ALL SCREAM FOR ICE CREAM

I had in mind a photograph of a big ice cream cone but the lassie who dished it up was so charming I left her in, even though she is out of focus. There is no need to worry about asking people in Italy if you can photograph them, their premises or their products. They are more than cooperative.

I hoped to buy the ice cream, slope outside to photograph it but when the shop discovered I wanted to take a picture of it they all joined in, even one of the customers. I am not used to causing such a stir. After the photograph the ice cream was transferred to a tray and we could not escape the shop without eating some of it.

The flavours were: pistachio, strawberry, lemon, chocolate. The shop is Marianella on the via per Camaiore just outside of Lucca. I can vouch for the smoothness of their ice cream and the excellence of their yogurt cheese cake.

Lots of internet problems. Will do comments tomorrow -- I hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.