Intelligent Satellite Navigation...

If I was designing the programming of a Satellite Navigation system, and I'm not saying I'm technically able of actually programming one, but I would give it a learning system where it would learn road systems it doesn't recognize.

It would have an inbuilt maps but as roads inevitably get built and it's database gets out of date, it would take note if you consistently went off it's known road map onto new roads.  It would warn you if it were taking you along routes that it's 'learnt' in case it had mistaken them and would gauge road rules for using the learnt roads by the amount of times you used them, taking into consideration speed and direction so it could learn of new motorways of one way systems.

I'd then have it upload it's learnt data to a central server which would then accumulate all data from other systems and base new road maps on that data for inclusion in actual map databases.

Tune in some other time for my re-programming of predictive text.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.