Children once again

Waking up early becomes a habit, not only because it is the best time to enjoy the hills in solitude, but because one can get over with the usage of the bathroom. The 22 km ride to Phagupul isn't an intimidating one and I long to rush through the hills. Unfortunately, most are yet to get accustomed to geared cycles as well as the hilly roads and I feel restrained. Whenever I wish to move on, I have to stop. I decide to take long breaks when I can simply sit by and enjoy the hills or if possible shoot whatever seems interesting. So, that when I ride, I can do so in a carefree manner. I meet a lady who waters plants along the road saying she would like the place to be prettier so that we can visit again. Another one, whose photo I take, thanks me with a huge handful of a local fruit she calls Akhwani. It is sweet with a seed within and is perfect before climbing the slopes on what gradually turns into a very sunny day.

One of our midway breaks is scheduled near a bridge across the Beas river. Without hesitation we rush down to the bank and sit upon the stones as the swiftly running water rushes around our feet. It feels wonderful under the sun. But it's a mistake to postpone lunch when the stomach is growling with hunger, threatening to almost swallow itself. Some schoolchildren spot me and are eager to have their photos taken. Once that's done, they demand a ride on my cycle! Needless to say, the bike is too large for them, so they end up taking turns sitting on the seat while groups of their friends balance and push them along. As long as the roads go uphill I am comfortable, but the moment the hills roll downwards, I get cautious and stop them. They are a bunch of enthusiastic children and the cycle a great source of amusement and curiosity for them.

What follows is the bath in the river by the camp at Phagupul. The body soon gets accustomed to the cold water and after that it becomes difficult dragging ourselves out of the river. The slippery stones and the strong current notwithstanding, it is beautiful. The river cuts through a valley lined with smooth white boulders and we watch as the evening sun gradually slips beneath the surrounding hills with just our heads bobbing over the water. There's loads of splashing, throwing water upon one another and loads of laughter followed by that moment when the sunlight is at its most glorious. The day ends well and the sound sleep at our camp bears testimony to that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.