Hold it!

It can't be. I blipped some scenery with real people in it? Gasp. But that must mean that I got in the car and drove some place and waited for the sun to set. I can hardly believe it myself.

When you live in a land where any kind of classically stunning sunset comes along once a summer (this wasn't it, well it may have been...I'll know at the end of the summer if it was) it's a slight challenge. Our squeaky clean air isn't conducive to those belters you get in Arizona or the Middle East. You can however, look west around 8:30 and tell if something mildly spectacular is gearing up to happen.

It wasn't the colors or the clouds that did it for me. It was the scores of Hmong immigrant families with their fishing gear, walking down to the edge of the water, finding their spots and casting in while excitedly chattering in their native tongue, mesmerizing my ears. The soft 'plonks' of their hooks and bait causing water ripples, the screeching of the red winged blackbirds and honking of the geese and this dad, teaching his little guy how to cast in; that did it for me too. As with most sunsets, beautiful as they are, you kind of have to be there to really appreciate them. I did.

The light part of the image is a bit washed out and sadly I don't know how to or if that can be "fixed" so this is right out of the camera. I could have tried an HDR but I understand it's out of fashion. Besides, I have a hot movie date right now to watch Sherlock Holmes on blue ray. Just wish I liked Robert Downey Jr. better. Not my fave.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.