Ingunn in Oslo

By IngunnInOslo

FADING MEMORIES AND GOING BACK TO CHILDHOOD

My mum has forgotten all the names of the flowers. She still thinks they are beautiful, and was pleased with the lilacs I gave her.

But when we go for a walk, she shines like a sun at the sight of dandelions and says: I remember them! What are they called? And I tell her, and she explains to me that people up in the north like them. She has forgotten that she was a child when living there. They are the most beautiful flowers in the world in her eyes, and it touches me. I can imagine her as a little girl picking dandelions to her mum that she was so attached to. I can imagine the sunshine-flowers squeezed in her chubby hand, and the smile my grandmother would give her.

It didn't grow lilacs in her hometown village, so she has lost memories of them and they fade away, blurred and distant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.