Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

School Outing

Nienke's class had a school outing today and I was one of the chosen parents to go with them and take care of a group of five children. We went to Family Park Nienoord in Leek. Basically this is a huge playground where the kids could roam free for quite some time.

One of the attractions was a very big slide. On top of the roof of that slide, I noticed a stork. At first I thought it was going to fly away as soon as the slide would be used by loads of screaming kids but this was not the case. It seems like the stork has a nest there. Needless to say, this was when I regretted not bringing my DSLR; our compact camera is just not up to the job.

Like the stork image, the image I chose for blip today is also taken at the slide with the compact camera. Here we see Nienke sliding down with one of her friends from her class. Both this image and the stork image were heavily processed (noise reduction and sharpening) and heavily cropped so the quality is not very good. But these images sum up how my day was so this will have to do...

Oh, I also tried to capture two donkeys "doing the wild thing", which I guess was one of the main attractions for many grown-ups today. I needed to get closer for a decent* shot with the compact camera but that male donkey was one fast mover so I was too late...


* although... what's "decent" when you try to capture donkeys in such a position?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.