Flying colours

A busy day. Up early to get some work done before switching to NCT (National Car Test) mode. My new best mate in Speedy Tyre place up the road had advised me to bring the car back to him for a last-minute re-check of headlight focus before going for the test. Before that I dropped in to the printer cartridge refill shop to see if they'd print out my test booking email (my printer had refused to cooperate when I tried to print myself, determinedly flashing all of its several lights and refusing to react to print commands). The guy behind the counter said at first that they didn't roved a print service, but changed his mind when I told him it was only a 2-page document and what it was for.

John in the Speedy place took the car in right away and ran the headlight check while I waited. I'd rather cynically wondered if he'd only recommended a re-check so he could charge more, but he proved me wrong when he handed back the car key, wished me luck with the test, and didn't mention money.

All of that happened so quickly that I even had time to get back and fit in another hour of work before heading for the test centre. My booking was for 11.55, and I was back home by 12.30, complete with new certificate and NCT disc. It was all a lot less stressful than two years ago when I spend a fortune on a pre-test service, failed, and forked out more money for replacement shock absorbers and a re-test. After that experience I was resigned to failing again this time, so the immediate pass came as a pleasant surprise.

The rest of the day was work, work, work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.