surely you can see

By petergarver

september's theme: close to you, explained.

This was an easy one. Soon after I got to work, I saw these headset parts sitting on a bench and bathed in this great sunlight. I took more pictures later, some of which I like, but I'm going to revisit that subject with my slr (probably tomorrow), so this one will go for today.

Today's Close to You youtube selection is the debut single of Utada Hikaru, who has since (in the last 9 years) become one of the biggest Japanese recording artists ever. She's only sort of Japanese, though - she's a third culture kid (new term I learned today). I've never really listened to her, although I really enjoy her fellow J-popper Maaya Sakamoto. I'm listening to some of her other stuff, and thankfully she has improved a lot since this flat, lifeless performance.

p.s. here's some better hikki and some maaya sakamoto. the first sakamoto video is really long, but both the song and video pay off huge at the end. btw, yoko kanno writes her songs.

edit the following day: Hey, I just realized this image qualifies for assignment 12! I didn't mean it to, but what the hey.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.