In Today's Views...

By LovePopcorn

Storyteller Series - #61 My Story Tiles 7-10

... continuing our virtual tour...

top to bottom, left to right these tiles are on the top above the Somalia and Korea language tiles on the east side.
(please note that there is some damage due to vandals - there are now two security cameras trained on this sculpture garden and every morning (early like 4:00 am or so) the patrol car stops and the officers get out to check on the site.

My Story - tile 7
Each country has its own myths and
legends and this is one from mine. In the
middle of Hanoi City is the beautiful Lake of
the Rendered Sword. The legend tells of a
famous King who saw a big turtle appear on
the surface with a sword in its mouth. The
turtle offered it to him and the King took the
sword to battle. Upon defeating the enemy,
he returned to the lake and the turtle
appeared again. After the King rendered the
sword to it the country was at peace for a
long time. Today turtles sometimes appear
on the lake; maybe they are the
descendents of the big turtle because there
is now peace in Vietnam.

My Story - tile 8
I have affection toward Rosa Parks School
because it is like being at home and feels
like family. It doesn?t matter if your are white,
Asian, black. I give thanks to God for giving
me the opportunity to know so many
parents in my community who are active
and interested in the education of their
children. The children are the future. One
day, my grandchildren will be well off and
bilingual.

My Story - tile 9
I was born in Vietnam and graduated from
the University and was a teacher. I worked
for the American Embassy for 10 years. In
April 1975, when the Communists took over,
they caught me and kept me in prison over
14 years. I came to the U.S.A. in 1995 and I
moved to San Diego in 1997. I have 4
children and 6 grandchildren. I am so happy
and proud to be a Parent Volunteer. I like to
help the school and I love all kids.

My Story - tile 10
I was born in the midst of the Civil Rights
Movement in 1965 and my childhood was
focused on learning about my African roots.
I was raised by a village because I grew up
in a public housing complex that was for the
betterment of Black people.

We left Stamford, Connecticut, where many
who stayed succumbed to drugs and an
early death, to move to Chicago where my
mom got a scholarship to get her MA and
PhD at the University of Chicago. I dropped
out of high school at 15 but got a GED and
went on to graduate from Columbia College.
I moved to San Diego, to give my daughter a
more multicultural upbringing.

The designing artist featured In Today's Views is Sayoko Kay Mura

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.