Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Giggles with Granny!

Granny wanted a photo with her grandsons. This is a tricky brief. granny is terribly terribly camera shy and freezes up if I so much as look at my Canon! As a result she always looks grumpy or serious when in fact she's adorable...a real giggler and very funny.

So I waited until granny was relaxed on the swing seat with Noah and sent H over to make them both laugh.

Ok...it isn't a perfect portrait but I love it and so does granny :-))

I promise I'll catch up properly with everyone's blips when I get back to broadband. Granny doesn't have broadband so it's dodgy mobile connections for now!

Thank you very much for your kind comments about yesterday's blip.

I was experimenting with pen and coloured ink washes. My inspiration was a fancy restaurant we visit which has great artwork...plus a Chinese lamp which Granny owns (and actually bought at M&S!) The artwork didn't photograph terribly well...the outlines looked a bit thin and ill-defined so I had the idea of using glowing edges in a duplicate layer then inverting and desaturating them before blending them with the original. That gave a fairer representation of my artwork. I've tried Chinese brushes but I find them too difficult to use. I know where I am with pen and ink even though it's a bit of a cheat!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.