Carbon Monoxide Alarm

I am taking care of my friend's house and cat while they are away. Usually it is a fairly routine task - food, water, litter box for the cat, bring in the mail, water the plants or garden.

But today's visit was far from quiet.

I came in to an ear splitting alarm in the kitchen. Couldn't find the source of the alarm anywhere. Anyway, ultimately found the carbon monoxide alarm inside a cabinet. I tried to reset it, but it still kept going off. Unplugged it, replugged it, still kept going off. Checked on the cat - he was under the bed and gave me a nice hiss. Opened all the windows. Basement smelled a bit funny but not like gas. Kitchen smelled fine. But I do NOT have a nose for gas. I called the gas company. They said STAY out of the house, someone will be there in 45 minutes.

OK, when we had this happen in Texas. A person from the gas company came within the hour and checked the house. No big deal. Well, where we live in NY, the gas company calls the fire department. As I was sitting on the porch, I heard the fire horn go off and later, the fire engine sirens. It was 2 fire engines, the fire chief car, 1 police car - about 10 men total. They couldn't find a gas leak and they got the CO monitor to stop going off. Didn't know why it happened, but they were very polite and professional and friendly.

And the worst part, I left my camera in the house and the fire fighters wouldn't let me go in to get it. I tried to take pictures with my phone of the firetrucks and police cars all around the house - but my phone kept freezing :-( I knew their son (Bob's best friend Kit) would love to see the fire trucks all around his house, but my technology failed. As soon as they let me go in, I grabbed my camera and got this picture as they were driving away.

Perhaps I should buy them a new CO monitor as a welcome home gift?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.