Joanne Jeynes Photography

By joannejeynes

Sunset following the worst day for Cumbria

As the sun begins to settle for the night, many many families are reeling in the shock of the tragic events that took place in West Cumbria today.

12 people shot dead and several others injured, 3 critical and 5 serious being the update before I retired to my bed, high on shock and laying awake wondering WHY?

Who will ever know the real reason Derrick Bird decided to do what he did today, go on a rampage causing massive devastation for so many people, impacting so cruelly on so many peoples lives. I don't know any of the deceased but yet my heart grieves. My heart also aches for the family he left behind, not only do they have to accept his suicide afterwards but they have to try and find some understanding in why he did what he did and also grieve for his twin brother that he also shot dead!

I came home from work and hugged my son so tight, events have completely shattered the safe haven I thought I had given James in idyllic West Cumbria.

I am at a loss for words.......... completely devastated!!!

My deepest condolences to all concerned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.