Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

The Winnings

Missed all the quizzes in May, but our return in June was a winning return so after The Quizmaster and The Barmaid and The Pub here's The Winnings.

We were marked as having got nine questions wrong, however going through Andrew's list I'm sure there's ten we didn't get right - too late for a recount, but I think we won by a couple of points so it wouldn't have mattered. Here's the list of those I think we got wrong - see if you could have improved our score:

1. Which S Australian mountain range lies between Lakes Torrens and Frome?
2. Which anniversary does (Colonel) Dan Dare celebrate in 2010?
3. In the 2010 film Sex and the City 2, the action moves from New York to which UAE?
4. What is the translation of the Paul Young hit song Senza Una Donna?
5. The Maelstrom is a strong tidal current in a restricted channel off the coast of which Scandinavian country?
6. The name of which cattle fodder is derived from German meaning "beet root"?
7. Who is host of the TV quiz show The Chase?
8. Which country singer had a UK hit singing Don't It Make My Brown Eyes Blue?
9. Written by Joni Mitchell, which Judy Collins song begins: "Bowls and flows of angel hair ice cream castles in the air and feathered canyons everywhere I've looked at clouds that way. Now they only block the sun, they rain and snow on everyone, so many things I would have done but clouds got in my way"?
10. Which group's 1981 song Don't Stop Believin' was a 2010 hit after Glee covered it?

And now the plug for Andrew (who's good enough to email me the above so's I don't have to type them out:

The quiz is well & enjoyably run by Andrew and as his website says "If you're in London, Essex, Herts, Beds or Bucks - Want to hold a quiz event but can't find a quiz master? - Want a fun evening?" Then give him a call - he's promised to get the paint off his hands before his next engagement!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.